You are here:

Jews for Cheeses

This summer, a rabbi in Rhode Island granted Kosher status to the Clover chain of restaurants and food trucks in Cambridge. The most controversial aspect of this move is that Clover uses cheeses that are not considered Kosher by the majority of the Kosher-consuming community. But his approach to the situation is not simple and is not without precedent. We’ll be looking at the halachic issues surrounding cheese in general, with a focus on the specific issue of cheese made by non-Jews. Peripherally, we’ll be examining the question of how we make decisions around Kashrut. Additionally, we’ll be eating cheese during class - often in the form of pizza.

• 9/9/15: What is cheese, how cheese is made, what animals’ milk works, and what halachic issues are involved?
• 9/16/15: Other ways to make cheese, and their halachic issues: vegetarian cheese, microbial rennet, and soft cheeses
• 9/30/15 Soft/acid cheeses and their status
• 10/7/15 Gevinat Akum - cheese made by non-Jews - part I: as addressed in the Gemarra
• 10/14/15 - Gevinat Akum - cheese made by non-Jews - part II: as addressed in the Tosefot
• 10/21/15 - Gevinat Akum - cheese made by non-Jews - part III: as addressed in the Rambam and commentaries
•10/28/15 - Gevinat Akum - cheese made by non-Jews - part IV: as addressed in the Tur, Beit Yosef, Shulchan Aruch
• 11/4/15 - Jewish-owned milk and Jewish-owned rennet - what does it change?
• 11/18/15 - The Rav and Kraft Cheese - what happened, and what does it mean?
• 12/2/15 - The Chazon Ish on Jewish-owned, non-Jewish-made cheese
• 12/9/15 - Today - Scroll K, Clover, and the modern usage of cheese made by non-Jews
 
 

MIT Hillel

Phone: 617-253-2982
Email: hillel@mit.edu

MIT Hillel
Muriel and Norman B. Leventhal
Center for Jewish Life

40 Massachusetts Ave, Building W11
Cambridge, MA 02139

Sign up for our student newsletter!

Like us on Facebook!